The FLiACT project is organised in 7 Work Packages (WP)



WP Title



WP 1

Molecular and genetic basis of behaviour



WP 2

Structure and function of neural circuits



WP 3

Comparative analysis


Gompel & Prud'homme

WP 4

Toolkit and behavioural screen



WP 5




WP 6




WP 7

Dissemination and Training




Management Structure



FLiACT Management Structure

The network coordinator (Louis): The network coordinator is seconded by Gabrielle Bertier from the CRG International and Scientific Affairs Office (ISA). Additionally, the coordinator will be seconded by two senior partners of FLiACT, the scientific coordinator (Hansson) and the training coordinator (Strauss). The coordinator is also assisted by the co-founders of the network, Ilona Kadow, Nicolas Gompel and Benjamin Prud'homme.

The training coordinator (Strauss): His tasks consist in coordination of the training activities organised at network level, supervision of the Career Development Plans of the recruited researchers (updated every 6 months), revision of the reports after secondments, and follow up in the career development of the ESRs.

The scientific coordinator (Hansson): His tasks consist in overseeing the scientific activities of the project, identification of bottlenecks in the work programme, risk management, and fostering scientific collaborations with partners external from the network.

The WP leaders are Hassan (WP1 Molecular and genetic basis of behaviour), Dickson (WP2 Structure and function of neural circuits), Gompel & Prud'homme (WP3 Comparative analysis), Louis (WP4 Toolkit and behavioural screen), Kadow (WP5 Training), Louis (WP6 Management) and Armstrong (WP7 dissemination and training). They will supervise the activities within their Work Package by regular meetings and email exchanges. Additionally, the network, training and scientific coordinators will be supported by the supervisory board and scientific advisory board.

The supervisory board (SB) is formed by all the PIs from public and private sectors and two representatives of the ESRs (rotating annually). The two representatives will have no vote rights but they will provide feedback on the training needs and possible difficulties. Tasks include: orchestrating research and training, redefinition of responsibilities when required, regular revision of the network training activities according to the needs of the young researchers (each 6 months), resolution of conflicts, etc.

The scientific advisory board (SAB) is formed by 6 external scientists who are all internationally recognised senior scientists in the field of neuroscience. The SAB is composed of Ruediger Klein (MPI-Munich), Spyros Artavanis-Tsakonas (Institut Curie, France and Harvard University), Erich Buchner (Wuerzburg University), Claude Desplan (New York University), Dietmar Schmucker (K.U.Leuven and VIB, Belgium) and Luis Serrano (CRG, Spain). The SAB is committed to assess the FLiACT progress in research and training, and to provide guidance to fellows.